Home > Uncategorized > Vigil for Bertukan

Vigil for Bertukan

bertukan-1

bertukan-33

It’ has been thirty days since leader of the opposition unity for Democracy and Justice Party, Bertukan Mideksa re-arrested. A small crowd gathered at the party’s office this night to mark the day to highlight her plight and call for her immediate release. There was candle and wick lightening.bertukan-5

berukan-1

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 29, 2009 at 4:11 am

    We will work with G7 to overthrough woyanne and free Birtukan and other jailed Ethiopians too.
    Long live Ethiopia! Death to Wayane and other enemies of Ethiopia!

  2. January 29, 2009 at 8:51 am

    They called it “Qale”? Seriously? Lol. Not very creative, is it 😉 ? Down right dumb, infact. But “what do you expect from a one-dollar dish politicians” right? It’s the thought that counts anyway.

    LeBetwna LeLijwa Enatinet yabQat!

  3. Mitku
    January 30, 2009 at 7:24 am

    What is creative, young lady? What the hell is a one dollardish politician?
    It seems to me you are deliberately making such unwitting comments. I wish ye Hora witch will choke you for that. At least, these people deserve as little more courtesy than you are showing it to them.
    There is a good reason for the choice of the Kale, it was the phrase Berukan used to make her case just two days before thrown into jail. You must have read it either in Addis Neger and Addis Admass. It is nothing but uncreative. I am glad they did choose it to evoke that image.
    I might as well leave some comment for you. I can see you are smart but looking from your previous comments, I get the impression that you are cynic, which, in my wendemawi asteyayet, only do you bad, eat you away. A cynic person is no good for himself, and of course for those around him.
    be maygeba neger swen atakezabri.

  4. January 30, 2009 at 11:13 am

    There is a good reason for the choice of the Kale, it was the phrase Berukan used to make her case just two days before thrown into jail.

    Yes, Mitku darling (you don’t mind me calling that, do you 😉 ?) I’ve seen it. And read it. And felt sorry. And wished her the best. It’s the Vigil being entitled “Qale” that amused me and make me wonder over it’s creativity. You said it’s an attempt to “evoke that image”. What image?! The image of the fonts used on the newspaper?! Or of Birtukan’s Qal?

    Anybody coming to the vigil would know why Birtukan is in jail. So it’s obviously not for his/her benefit. If it was meant for the benefit of those who do not know and haven’t read the newspaper item, do you think they’d go around asking what this mysterious word “Qale” mean?! I don’t think so! As long as we are insisting on being not-creative, how does “Qalwa” sound?. Better for me. Since the vigil is “about” Birtukan [and what she’s paying for what she believes in – keeping her word] and not a meeting she called to explain why she had another fall out with the government.

    Just saying!

    Regarding your other question on the proverb I used:
    The original comment was “what do you expect from a one-dollar dish?”. Implying that creativity isn’t something Politikegnoch should “meTaamaat” on. I deleted the dish part just in time, and replaced it with “what do you expect from politicians”. But wanted to show my readers where the proverb originally came from – thus communicating it’s [yeTint yeTewat] meaning. Still, the tone of the comment should have told you I meant no disrespect for the organizers. It’s their creativity, or the lack therein, I despised.

    Beterefe..
    Being cynical isn’t what I chose to become, although I wouldn’t have it any other way [for I consider whatever I have turned out to be, whether by choice or force, a “Qelem” that adds beauty to God’s garden of variety]. But if you’ve taken one more step and read some of the posts in my blog, you’d realize i’m a closeted-idealist. Just being kicked back [and around] by life every time I attempted to come out. [Maan neber “Idealist: a cynic in the making.” yalew?!]. I’m sure it works vice-a-versa.

    P.S. The “Hora” witch comment made me laugh out loud. I have a feeling you really didn’t mean it but hey.. maybe he dude doesn’t even exist 🙂 .

  5. Girum
    January 30, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    Ere Abesheet….Yihenma kanchi antebikim neber……

  6. February 3, 2009 at 5:59 am

    Sorry to disappoint you, Girume. I’d have had it otherwise, if i can. Btw, were you expecting me to applaud the usage of the word “Qale” as creative? Or that the similiarity between small-timer Ethio-politicians and a one dollar dish won’t occur to me?!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

