Home > Cinema > An interview with Haile Gerima

An interview with Haile Gerima

haileguerima_0117

This is an extract from an interview the Paris based Les novelless d’Addis has made with Haile Gerima.

.Yes. Self-exiled. Not necessarily….As I said the historical circumstances all contribute within my own character, my own traits. It could be I cannot accept the types of government, I cannot accept the kinds of conservative social context or to be unable to express oneself, etc. Not that I am better off in the United States. I am not. I do not like the weather. I do not like the climate. I do not have money there. I do not get money from my films in America and mostly cultivate in very long term European finance. It is just the fact that nobody cares about me in the United States to take me as a threat or as a formidable enemy or… In our third world countries the problem was mostly that intellectuals like me were fundamentally cowards. I am unable to cope with all kinds of the lack of liberty, not from government only, individual, social, etc.

Read the whole here.

Categories: Cinema
  1. November 28, 2008 at 11:49 am

    Vere interesting interview. Must be terrible the sense that you are of noplace. My country (Galicia, in northwest of Spain) was a land of emigration and diaspora. A lot of people, in Aregentina, Cuba, Germany, etc, sons of the emigrants sons sais now they are foreings there and here.

  2. November 29, 2008 at 5:33 am

    I like Prof. Haile Gerima’s idea very much.
    To me he is a great inspiration to many in the city of Addis Ababa and across the country. I appreciate his bold statements about his pride on Ethiopian history, literature and social phenomenon.

    But this time, especially in his exclusive interview with Addis Journal, I couldn’t find his usual courage. What happen?

    Peace, Love and Prosperity to All Humankind

    Amanyehun R. Sisay
    President
    The African Youth Leadership Institute

  3. December 4, 2008 at 7:56 am

    World’s longest-serving leaders – Top 20

  4. samson Yirsaw
    March 4, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Well, I like the professor’s idea. From his full interview, I can see that he worked hard on the film to show the bad times. I am confident that he can produce other films that can show the current situation of Ethiopia to the world. I think we all Ethiopians should address live information through the film or theater ( any possible media) which help us to work a on our unity and freedom.

    Samson yirsaw

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

