Home > City Journal > Holding tight

Holding tight

Categories: City Journal
  1. Ayu
    August 28, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Nice pictures.Keep posting some more.

  2. August 28, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    Is it me or are we seeing too many Muslim girls in the street these days?! Don’t get me wrong. I have no problem with muslim girls and their hijabs. But after watching that Al-Jaazeera report on how America’s invasion of Iraq, and the subsequent destruction, is creatig fanaticism in many a moderate Muslim bosom, I’ve been giving the matter due consideration. The mushrooming of the hajibs in the streets of Addis didn’t help ease the anxiety.

  3. Mamitu
    August 28, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    Abesheet,

    I was surprised to see that there are many women with burquas when I went to Addis almost after a 10 year absence. I have never seen a woman in a burqa in Addis before.

  4. curious
    August 29, 2008 at 8:01 am

    Imbeciles or ignorants?? Over 50 % of the Ethiopian population is muslim. But of course, to notice it, you will have to look beyond Addis…A girl/woman can wear the hijab for many reasons. Can you for once consider it as an expression of one’s faith?

    Iraq??!!#!? “Return to the faith” which is happening everywhere and with most religions is not just a muslim phenomenon…

  5. August 29, 2008 at 9:04 am

    You need to chill curious. None of us meant our comments in a bad way. Just as an observation. When a moderate muslim girl who, a year ago, went around with neither a hijab or a burQa suddenly finds it necessary to wear one, and to becoming a practicing muslim, you gotta wonder. Especially if you watched that Al-Jazeera, a pro-muslim television, documentary. Still, it’s her right and I’ll respect it. But having an opinion about it is my right too. And so long as I entertained (aired?) it in a respectful way, I don’t think anybody should start calling me names. (not that names bother me much, since they have more to say about the caller, than the called/labled).

    “Return to the faith”, that is a new idea to me. I know people are trying to return to their race, or something. Globalization and or Americanization may have something to do with it. The same reason why I joined the Addis Ababa University to study Amharic Literature (with special emphasis on Ge’ez language). Knowing yourself, so you won’t be taken by the tide, sort of thing. If that indeed is the case with the many hijab wearing girls i seem to be seeing in the streets of Addis these days, then i have nothing to worry about 🙂 . It remains to be seen, i guess.

    Mamitu:
    Wow! The only time i heard the word “BurQa” was on one of Rudyard Kipling’s short stories: about a “burQa”-wearing indian woman who fall in love with an English man, etcetra. I never knew what it was, less that i was familiar with it. How delighteful.

  6. anon
    August 29, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    Wearing a head scarf is not limited to Muslims. Please don’t make a mountain out of a mole hill.

  7. curious
    August 30, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Abesheet…Say if you called a black american “articulate” or “clean” s/he would be offended. To say such a thing today, you would have to be so out of touch or simply stereotypical. Comparatively that is how I felt with your comment i.e. out of touch or down right stereotypical…I dont mean to insult you but to criticize your thinking. Arent there many hijab wearing girls in AAU? Ever got to know one??

  8. mm
    August 30, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    I suggest that the wearing of head scarf should become the in-thing in Addis. How about more ladies wearing it for the fun of it!

  9. September 1, 2008 at 5:46 am

    Well, curious, as a matter of fact my dear friend Kedija (one of my bridesmaids, by the way) is one of them. But that’s the thing. She wasn’t a conservative muslim and nobody even knew she was one until they heard her name. But these days, she’s wearing her hajib, and even replying “Alham Delilahi” to greetings. She used to reply “Egziabher Yimesgen” because, i guess, she felt it caused less misunderstanding or, like me, felt the amharic word for “God”, i.e. “Egziabher” (more like “YeKilil Geji”, i heard) isn’t copyright to Christians. So the “Alham Delilahi” is understandable. I, even, encourage it. But the rest.. I don’t know man.. like i said in an earlier post.. people have the right to do what they will as long as “they didn’t touch their neighbours’ nose”, in the democratic world atleast (or the so called). But their actions have more to say about them than their words. And we are bound to read stuff into it.

  10. Dr. Ethiopia
    September 4, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Where have i been to miss this discussion?

    I am fascinated by Ethiopians who all of a sudden are being alert to (not in a nice way) their brothers and sisters from different religion.

    I have one advice. Come serve the U.S. Neocons and their dangerous agenda.

    When did a Hijab and a Berqa became some sort of new doctrine to Ethiopians? Why are we shoked at more Muslims? Dangerous my friends. Very very dangerous.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

