Home > News > Lust in Translation

Lust in Translation

I was taking a look at this rare global look at infidelity. 

 It is a new study publised in book, Lust in Translation this April.It has some surprising results and findings.

The underling theme is  adultery is more widespread in the South than in the North.

The book is written by a certain Pamela Druckermann, formerly a foreign correspondent for The Wall Street Journal and published by Penguin.So you don’t expect it to be scientific.

No tangible figures but the author interviewd people from all over the world, of differnet background, and religion.

 Some of the results.

The US tops the world for bieng prudish (or hypocrat? ).To put it more accuratly, Americans don’t sleep around much.

The French sleeps around less than Americans do.(The biggest surpise of all).But when they do,they don’t get caught.

In many other countries, adultery is not such a big deal-often it is accepted if not formally condoned.So says the study.

In Togo, 37 % men admitted of having extramartial affairs against 3 % in Sweden.(Poor Swedes!)

But Finland makes an exception of the Scandinavian countries with 50 % adulteries men.I wonder why.

The Russians regard affairs as benign vices, like cigar and scotch.The Japanese have institutionalized etramaritial sex through clubs and salaryman lifestyle.South Afircans would rather die than be monogamus.(One paper find this insulting and patently absurd)

The not so surprise.The biggest factor for infidelity is simply being male.

Ethiopia is not included in the study.(Make a guess of your own, reading Molvaers’  unflattering old essay, The Sex life of the Amhara people, Going Great Length to Please, helps, too.)

Not every one is convinced by the result of the reasrch.The New York Times called this book as a new set of stereotypes and generalizations.The Washington Post also used similar words, superficial and sterotypical.

On my part, I find it amusing.

Categories: News
  1. L
    May 2, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    Hello,

    I found your blog when I was searching for poems by Solomon Deressa. I
    just have to let you know that you have a wonderful website with a lot of
    useful information for anyone interested in Ethiopian literature or cinema! I
    have been looking everywhere for relevant material and it is not easy to
    find.
    It is really hard to find any information on Ethiopian literature out
    there
    today. I live in Sweden and not much work has been translated to
    English.
    I am writing an article for a British magazine on Ethiopian
    literature. So farI’ve read the critical anthology silence is not golden as well as Black Lions and a few other critical anthologies. But I do find it very hard to get a hold of actual novels and poems translated to English. I was
    born in Addis, but I was adopted to Sweden when I was about nine months old, so I donot know Amharic which makes the process of finding novels and poems a lot more difficult.I have my family in Addis( four siblings and my father). I went there to visit for the first time in 2004 which was wonderful. Myfather works for the red cross in Addis.
    I was wondering if you by any chance can recommend any novels or plays
    or poems that are translated to English and how I can get a hold of them.
    I am writing a short column for a newspaper soon and so I am also
    interested in
    information on where I can find Ethiopian poems on the internet.
    I really liked the excerpt you posted from a poem by by Asafa Tefera
    Dibaba and I would really like to read more of his work and Ethiopian poetry ingeneral. Is there a website? Or can you possible send me some? I’m also interested in Ethiopian female poets.
    was just so excited to find someone who knows about Ethiopian
    literature,
    because I’ve been trying to get in touch with people who knows the
    topic for so long now.

  2. May 5, 2007 at 6:18 am

    I do not agree that being male is prerequisite for having a relationship outside of marriage. From my previous readings, it seems, the more developed a country is and the wealthier/financially independent its females, they are also more likely to have sex outside of marriage than their counter parts.

    From evolutionary perspective, during ovulation, the female has as much desire to mate with the most amount of worthy males hoping the sperms duke it out for the best of the bunch to win conception.

  3. May 22, 2007 at 10:46 pm

    I really like that, and i don’t know what to say.

  4. SELAM
    May 22, 2007 at 11:56 pm

    This is to L.

    1. Oda Oak Oracle is one by Tsegaye G. Medehen
    2.Also 4 African Literature

    Leave your e-mail and I will send you info

  5. Daniya D Waqo
    December 19, 2007 at 8:06 am

    Can I reach L?

  6. August 12, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

